top of page
Search
lauren topor reichert

Accountability and Health: It's Not Always Easy

Taking ownership of your health is easier said than done. The choices we make about our health are very personal. Taking ownership can be tricky.


During a visit to my OBGYN shortly before I was diagnosed with Adenomyosis I was asked if I have any pain during my periods. I answered no. And as soon as that two letter response came out of my mouth my brain went crazy. “No? Are you kidding me? You’re suffering, say something!”


The assistant who was conducting my ultrasound asked, “No pain, really?” Or something like that. She could clearly see the results on my ultrasound — I had #Adenomyosis. A symptom of the condition is heavy bleeding and pain during menstruation.


So why did I say that I didn’t have any pain? I knew I did. There were countless days where I was doubled-over in the fetal position gripping and pressing a heating pad to my abdomen because of it, even if I did not know the cause at the time.


Taking accountability for your #health comes in many different forms. It can be that first phone call to the doctor’s office to schedule your first visit. And it can be speaking up about your symptoms in an appointment, or in the middle of an ultrasound.



Commentaires


bottom of page