top of page
Search
lauren topor reichert

Pituitary Adenomas: What Are They?

It is estimated that about 25% of people have pituitary tumors without knowing it.


Despite its small size, the pituitary gland influences nearly every part of your body. The hormones it produces help regulate important functions, such as growth, blood pressure and reproduction.

When I met with my neurosurgery doctor at the Mayo Clinic he told me that these tumors are often discovered postmortem, and that a lot of people go about their entire lives without knowing that they have a brain tumor because they never grow large enough to cause a problem. He also mentioned that women are more likely to be diagnosed, as their symptoms like irregular periods typically bring them into the doctor’s office. That's exactly what brought me into my OBGYN's office before my #pituitaryadenoma was discovered shortly after my first few visits.


Not all pituitary tumors cause symptoms. Pituitary tumors that make hormones (functioning) can cause a variety of signs and symptoms depending on the hormone they produce. The signs and symptoms of pituitary tumors that don't make hormones (nonfunctioning) are related to their growth and the pressure they put on other structures.

These particular tumors don't spread to other parts of the body, they can still affect a person's health. Vision loss is one of the risk factors. As a pituitary adenoma grows it can cause pressure to the optic nerve. Other complications include permanent hormone deficiency.


Large pituitary tumors — those measuring about 1 centimeter (slightly less than a half-inch) or larger — are known as macroadenomas. Smaller tumors are called microadenomas. Because of the size of macroadenomas, they can put pressure on the normal pituitary gland and nearby structures.

Medical experts don’t know what causes #pituitarytumors. This is something I’m still struggling with. Although there’s no identified cause, there is no way to know when exactly the tumor developed, and there is no way to tell how long that I have had it, there is a way to monitor and treat it.


Most pituitary tumors are noncancerous (benign) growths (adenomas). Adenomas remain in your pituitary gland or surrounding tissues and don't spread to other parts of your body.

No, my pituitary adenoma will never just go away. And as much as I wish it would, it will never shrink to oblivion. But after meeting with my doctors and learning more about pituitary tumors I know what to expect, and what to do treatment wise, going forward.


Comments


bottom of page